Ramon Vega walks off the field one final time as Loretto Lark players celebrate their 4-1 victory last Saturday, August 13 over Buffalo. The loss ended the season for the Bulldogs, and ended a 20-year amateur baseball career for Vega, who announced his retirement at the conclusion of this season. (Photo by Rob LaPlante)


Buffalo volleyball returns its top two attackers from last year’s team that went 14-15 overall. Pictured are junior Kari Zumach (left) and senior Taylor Thompson, who both spent last Tuesday practicing their serves. (Photo by Rob LaPlante)


Scott Larsen points out directions during last Tuesday’s practice drills. Larsen becomes Buffalo’s third different girls’ tennis head coach in as many years. He spent the last 10 years as women’s head coach at the College of St. Benedict’s in St. Joseph, where twice (2011, 2014) he was named MIAC Coach of Year. (Photo by Rob LaPlante)


Maple Lake shortstop Luke Fobbe throws to first to record an out during the Lakers’ 9-3 victory over Hutchinson last Sunday at Arnold Klaers Field in Loretto. Fobbe went 5-5 in the game. Maple Lake went 2-2 in tournament play, losing both games to Hutchinson, including a 7-3 loss in last Sunday’s championship game. (Photo by Rob LaPlante)


Sea Devil teammates (left-right): Grant Moser, Max Lezer, Charlie Bean, and Noah Dalluge, capped off a big first night for Wright County Area swimmers finishing first place in the Men’s Senior (17-18) 400 Meter Freestyle Relay last August 5 at the 2016 State Championship meet Aug. 5-6 in Rochester. Their time broke the previous Sea Devils’ record by three seconds. (Submitted photos)


Brothers Canon (left) and Egan Mills (right) were part of a Minnesota True Lacrosse team that took home a US Box Lacrosse Gold Medal during a national tournament held August 5-7 in San Jose. Canon was a player and Egan was a coach. (Photo by Tony Mills)


An aerial view displays the new Bison athletic complex that features the new track and field stadium (front), football stadium (center), and baseball, tennis, and softball fields (back). (Photo by Paula Meister)